SW Rebels Season 3 + Thoughts on Maul

maulThe latest Star Wars Rebels trailer has got me in a Star Wars mood! I’m really excited for this show to come back, but I’m not gonna focus on just Rebels today. I’ll talk a little about Episode I, The Clone Wars, and Rebels. Because I have a rant. It’s about Maul (If you couldn’t tell from the title and picture).

I know last week I said I’d be doing a part 2 for my LOST post, and I will do that. Next week! I just wanted to get this out there while it was still relevant. Oh, and spoilers. For all three of those things above. You’ve been warned.


No matter what version of Episode I you see, Maul gets sliced in half. I don’t care how you spin it, he’s dead. The explanation I’ve seen for him surviving that is he focused on his anger and hatred for Obi-Wan, let the Dark Side take over his body, and waited. He did this after falling through the reactor shaft and landing in a trash container.

Keep in mind, all he has is his torso at this point. And they expect us to believe he not only survived that fall but years and years after that. If it was possible for someone to hold onto life like that, no Sith would ever get killed. If it was based on will power and focusing on hatred, which they do all the time anyway, they’d be okay. It makes no sense! This discussion has been had many a times before, I just want to contribute.

rebels-poster-570x8301I don’t know how his species works so maybe it is possible for him to have lived through that. But if he’s just like a human but with weird skin, let’s think about it. No intestines, maybe half a stomach…if the fall or the lightsaber didn’t kill him, eating and drinking would. Unless his spider legs somehow fixed that.

He showed up in The Clone Wars. Still didn’t die. Showed up in Rebels. Hasn’t died yet. I’ll say for a second I accept the way he survived. It makes total sense, guys!! But even if so, Qui-Gon got stabbed once, died minutes later. Maybe it was because he didn’t have a connection to the Dark Side, whatever. It doesn’t make sense and it’s not fair.

They brought him back because they knew killing him was a mistake. He was cool, yet he died so quickly. They wanted him around more and, let’s face it, used him to get people interested in these shows. They might have done it because they were running out of ideas. And they keep bringing him back. Speaking of which… YOU LEAVE EZRA ALONE, MAUL.

Now they’re using him to try and make Ezra darker. Thanks, Rebels. That makes me feel great. (The sarcasm is so real.) And here’s my weird opinion: Making Ezra darker could be a good thing.

giphy21
Yeah, yeah, I know. I’m not saying he should become evil! His personality is more Jedi-like than Kanan’s, for crying out loud. But Gray Jedi really interest me. If they had one in this show, it would be great! And while I don’t think Ezra is dark enough to become a full on Gray Jedi, some experience with the other side could teach him a few things. I just hope they don’t take it too far.

If anything, Kanan is more of a candidate to be a Gray Jedi. He’s openly emotional and I don’t think he’ll be like other Jedi who are going, “No relationships!” He and Hera are basically an old married couple already. The only thing I hope for him in this season is he’s not moody because of his eyes. Please don’t let him be moody about his eyes. The trailer gave me hope that he’ll still be great at Jedi stuff, but I’m not sure. I’m getting off topic.

gray11To be honest, I like Maul in Rebels and The Clone Wars. They’ve done a good job with him. I hated the things he did in The Clone Wars, but that’s perfect! He’s a villain! It’s not like we’re supposed to enjoy the fact that be murdered Obi-Wan’s girlfriend…ugh, why did I think of that? Now I’m sad.

It’s still ridiculous, though. If he makes Ezra evil and doesn’t die this season–I dunno, man. I dunno.

So this post went a little all over the place! What are some of your thoughts on Ezra, Maul, or anything else Star Wars? There are now Lion Turtles in Rebels, so that’s a thing we could talk about. And what about Thrawn? I should really read that trilogy so I’ll actually know who he is and care about him being here. ‘Til next we speak.

One thought on “SW Rebels Season 3 + Thoughts on Maul

Leave a comment